Panjab & United Provinces - 2

Lahore.    Estd. 1863,
The Punjab Brahma Samaj, Hospital Road. Anarkali, Lahore.
This is a neutral Samaj. Here all sections unite in divine service in the Mandir. Missionaries of all sections are invited. The two sections of the Sadharan Brahma Samaj and the New Dispensation have separate work of their own under iudependant organisations. The present Managing Committee of the Punjab Brahma Samaj consists of the following members.
President—Babu A. C. Majumdar.
Secretary.—Lala Kashi Ram.
Asstt. Secretaries.   = Babu B.B.Ghose.
Dr. V. Sukhatankar.

Bhai Prakash Dev.
Lala Dharamdas Suri
" Chunilal.

" Lajpatrai Sahni.
" Raghuaath Sahai.
Members.—There are 40 registered members and 15 sympa­thisers.
Mandir.—The service is held in the evening on Sundays. Aver­age attendance 50 to 60. There is a Mandir with an Ashram at the back for Missionaries. The widow of the late Bhai Sundar Singh with her son now occupies this place.
Funds.—The contributions from members and sympathisers amount to Rs. 27 per month. There is a permanent Mis­sion Fund of Rs. 1,200.
Institutions.—(l) The New Dispenation sectionof the Samaj holds a servioe on Sunday morning in the house of one of its members Babu B. B. Ghose, B.A. A new Dispensation Brotherhood is being organised.
(2) The Sadharan Brahma Semaj Section has established an Upper India Brahma Mission which has got 60 members. The following is its constitution.
1.Object.—The object of the Upper India Brahma Mission is to farther the cause of the Brahma Samaj in Upper India by establishing and maintaining Brahma Samajes, organiz­ing Mission operations, founding educational and philan­thropic institutions and by the publication of Brahma literature and such other means.

2.Membership.—Any one in sympathy with the mission of the Sadharan-.Brahma Samaj may become a member of the Upper India Brahma Mission, provided his application for membership ia supported by two members and accepted by the Executive Committee of the Mission at one of its meetings by a majority of votes. All members shall have to pay a subscription of at least Rs. 3 a year.

3.The Executive Committee.—The business of the Mis­sion shall be carried on by an Executive Committee con­sisting of 17 anushstlianic members of the Sadharan Brahma Samaj, 5 of whom shall be nominated by the Lahore Sadha nashram and the rest elected by the members of the Mission from among themselves at their annual meeting. The Committee shall elect annually a Seoretary, an Assis­tant Secretary and a Treasurer from among themselves.

4.The Meetlngs of the Committee.—The Executive Committee shall meet at least once in a quarter. The notice of such meetings shall be given at least a week before the date of the meeting, specifying the questions to be considered. Five shall form quorum. Members who cannot be present on account of unavoidable causes shall have a right to vote by proxy or by letter.

5. Bye-laws.—The Executive Committee shall be competent to frame bye-laws, consistent with the constitution of the Mission, for conducting its work.

6.—Property.—All property of the Mission shall be vested in a Board of Trustees nominated by the Lahore Sadhanashram, who will have entire control over the pro­perty of the Mission. Any vacancy in the Board of Trus­tees by death, resignation or any other cause shall be filled up by the Punjab Sadhanashram within six months.
7. Change In the Constitution.—Any change in the above constitution of the Mission may be made at a special meeting of the Executive Committee, the notice of which must be given at least a fortnight previous to the date of the meeting, by a majority of two-thirds of the entire Committee.
The provisional committee of the Mission consists of the following members:—
Pandit Sivanath Sastri, Bhai Prakash Dev, Babu Heramba Chandra Maitra, Babu Hem Chandra Sarkar, Babu Nilmani Dhar, Babu Mahendra Nath Sarkar, Babu Ishan Chandra Dev, Babu Sudhir Kumar Lahiri, Lala Manohar Lai, Bhai Sitaram. Bhai Beharilal Vasudev, Bhai Ram Kishen, Mallik Uttam Chand, with Babu Abinash Chandra Majamdaras Secretary, Lala- Lajpat Rai Sahni, Assistant Secretary and Lala Raghunath Sahai, Treasurer.
(8) A branch of the Calcutta Sadhanasram was established in Lahore in the year 1898 by the late Bhai Sundar Singh. Bhai Prakash Dev is in charge of this institution. There is an orgination for the welfare of young men known by the name of Atmonnati Sabha, service of which is held on Sunday morn­ing in the office of the Sadhanasram. A permanent building- of the Ashram which it is estimated will cost Rs. 15,000 is already under construction.
Organ.—Brahma Pracharak an Urdu fortnightly is conducted by Bhai Prakasn Dev and Pandit Girdhar Ray.
Workers.—Bhai Prakash Dev and Babu A. C. Majumdar. Can­didate workers.—Lala Raghunath Sahai, B A., and Lala Uttam Chand, Lala.Sitakurn, Bhai Beharilal Busndev. There are about a dozen helpers and sympathisers.